The First Club in the World to cater exclusively  for the Smooth and Miniature Smooth Dachshunds.

This is a National Club and all lovers and friends of our breed are welcome - especially newcomers.


Approximately twenty four years ago a group of Smooth and Miniature Smooth dachshund breeders and exhibitors felt that it was time for us to have our own breed club which we wanted to call The Smooth Haired Dachshund Club. Lovaine Coxon who is now our Chairman spent time at shows approaching people of influence to ask them if they would support our proposal for a Smooth Haired Dachshund Club. The months passed without any favourable responses. Whilst at Richmond Championship Show Jeff Horswell,  suggested that Lovaine talk to Terry Thorn. Jeff was going to see him on another matter and asked Lovaine to join him. When Jeff had finished his business with Terry, Lovaine asked Terry if he would support our campaign for a Smooth Haired Dachshund Club. His response was immediate and extremely favourable. It took Lovaine’s breath away! Terry promised to see the process through (his own words).

n 2002 we held our first show which was an open show. Jeff Crawford was the first judge to award Challenge Certificates in miniature smooth haired dachshunds in 2010 and in his report he said “ It was great to be part of the Club’s first Championship Show and I appreciated the good entry and sportsmanship of the exhibitors” The Dog CC was awarded to Yvonne Kent’s Barratini Jeeves at Lockmadi and the Bitch CC with BOB to Ellen Blackburn’s Sonderbar Billie Jean at Stargang.

n 2014 Roy Wood judged Smooths with our first set of tickets for this breed. The Dog CC was awarded to Seago & Gibbard’s Ch Amilda Dramatiker and the Bitch CC with RBIS to Seago & Gibbard’s Ch Amilda Evora.

The response from both Smooth and Mini Smooth exhibitors was universally extremely supportive at every level with everyone rallying round and attending meetings on a large scale. This of course also plated a huge part in the formation of the club.

In 2022, we celebrated our 20th anniversary, long may it continue.







Click Here for Our Code of Ethics

Click Here for our Rules and Regulations

A Tribute to our Patron. Percy Norton (Matzell)

A Tribute to our President, Betty Munt (Pipersvale)